Tips and Tricks: Best Time to Clean Your Bathroom

Did you know that there is a best time to clean your bathroom? YES! Professional house cleaners have been using this trick in their own homes for ages and by doing it at this exact time, you will save yourself hours of cleaning later! So when is the best time to clean your bathroom?

After you use it!

Stop with the moaning and groaning. You knew I was going to say that!

As a kid, my grandmother used to tell me “if you clean as you go, you won’t have a big clean later!” Of course my rebuttal to that was “but then you’re just cleaning all the time!” Boy how I wish I had taken her advice early on instead of waiting until I became a professional house cleaner to see the benefits of this simple and timely advice.  It would have saved  me many hours of cleaning and needless frustration.

But, sometimes you have to learn things the hard way and the hard way for me was cleaning other people’s bathrooms who let things go for weeks, months, years, and sometimes I suspect DECADES! Spending hours in a bathroom trying to remove years worth of lime scale, soap scum, hard water, and mold certainly opened my eyes to how much easier it would be to just keep up with a daily cleaning ritual of a few minutes instead of hours!

Below are the steps I’ve developed for a daily bathroom cleaning ritual that takes less then five minutes and can be used whenever you get your shower or bath. (Which I hope is daily)

  • Before you get your shower, take some disinfecting wipes or a cleaning cloth with some cleaner and wipe off the surfaces of your toilet. Don’t forget to wipe down #6 which seems to collect pee from men. (I’ve yet to receive an answer as to how or why that happens) After that, squirt the inside of your toilet with some toilet cleaner or drop in an Efferdent tab or you can make your own toilet fizzies. Let that sit while you get your bath or shower. toiletclean
  • After you’ve taken your shower and dried off, either use a squeegee to get the water off your glass and tiles, a daily shower cleaner (I like Method’s Daily Shower Cleaner), or take the towel you dried off with and dry all the surfaces of your shower or tub. (Come on! You used it on your CLEAN BODY! It’s not like it’s dirty and you were probably just going to put it into the laundry basket anyway!) By doing this, you will help prevent mold, soap scum, and hard water build up. By the way, soap scum is caused by the paraffin in bar soap. I’d suggest using a liquid soap to prevent this nemesis of house cleaners.
  • Go back to your toilet, swish the inside with your toilet brush, and flush. Toilet done!
  • After I get dressed, I brush my teeth and fix my hair which leaves toothpaste splatters and hair here and there all over my sink and counter. Keep some mirror cleaner and a cloth under your sink. After you’ve put away all your equipment and products (I keep a basket on my counter,) give your mirror, sink, fixtures, and the counter a squirt with the glass cleaner and wipe. (Honestly, I just use my hand towel since it’s right there and if done immediately, I really don’t need the cleaner)

That’s it! Seriously, that’s all there is to it and it takes less than 5 MINUTES! What’s 5 minutes when it saves you HOURS of cleaning on the weekends when you could be doing something fun. And it gives you the peace of mind knowing your bathroom is clean and guest ready every day!

 

Author: Chele

I'm a 40 something native Texan with a degree in Anthropology from Texas A&M. Along with writing, I spend my free time running, camping with my husband and our two dogs, Duke and Mini, and trying to figure out how to make the world a better place one day at a time.

Leave a comment